Recovery week, Grocery bills

Hiking through a hail storm = zero progress for the week.  Either because they are unexpected or because I’m on vacation anyway, I was knocked on my butt this entire week by a summer cold.  I managed to sniffle my way through a few power yoga sessions, which are my go-to when I desperately want to avoid running.  (note: this is pretty much all the time)

My major goal this week was to slash our weekly grocery budget.  I have two major consumer weaknesses — food and REI — and both are equally dangerous.  Groceries are around 15-25% more expensive than what we are used to in Phoenix, and I am not particularly frugal when it means compromising the purchase of high quality, healthy food.  We allow ourselves one take-out order/week, which covers one dinner and one lunch.  Other than that, we make all of our food at home.  The last few weeks we did $125 worth of damage each week, and this week I managed to slash it down to $85.  My ultimate goal is +/- $75.

I only did three things differently this week, and it worked out well!

1. Plan each dinner, include 2-3 with cheap ingredients.  We have a chalkboard in a frame hanging above the fridge where we outline our meals for the week.  The difference this week is that I spent some time looking for inexpensive vegetarian recipes and added them to the list.

2. Don’t buy anything over $6.99  The only thing that typically tips this budget is seafood, but if you buy the styrofoam-backed fresh stuff right by the counter and eat it at the beginning of the week, it’s significantly cheaper (shrimp in particular).  I’ve also learned that 2/3 lb of any seafood is plenty for a dinner of two.

3. Build your menu based on sale items Safeway has a new shopping app which lets you upload coupons onto your loyalty card.  Most of the discounts are for processed/packaged stuff I don’t buy, but we ended up with a lot of BOGO items that will last for next week as well.

There are tons more tips along with entrance into the endless (terrifying?) world of online couponing here.

About jacqandthemountains

I teach middle school science, and I like to play outside.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

