Leggo my Bento

School has started which means I’m busy putting in 10-12 hour days.  It’s a terrific way to spend my time, but it also means that I don’t get to work out every single day and have been indulging in the occasional absent-minded stress eating.  Three handfuls of skittles?  Don’t mind if I do.  3/4 of a caramel-stuffed of a chocolate bar?  That sounds like a terrifically irresponsible dessert.

In a fit of consumerist glee, I did manage to purchase one of these:

Behold the Bento!  Fruits, veggies, boiled egg, half of a peanut butter sandwich.

I never thought that shoveling cottage cheese into a small plastic container and then placing it into another slightly larger plastic container would be so satisfying!  When my boyfriend unexpectedly decides to eat most of a can of beans, I can save the remaining few  ounces and eat them for lunch.  What a magnificent system!  My lunches have been so healthy!  Another perk is that this encourages me to waste less food because I no longer have an excuse as to why all of the [insert random vegetable here] is not eaten and goes bad at the end of the week.  I can bento it!

You can buy your own here or at Whole Foods.  Not included: What to say when your friends and family make fun of you because you are obsessed with your lunchbox (and perhaps adorn it with stickers.)

 

About jacqandthemountains

I teach middle school science, and I like to play outside.
This entry was posted in Climbing, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

