Venn diagram

My knee is an unpleasant amalgamation of the knees of quarterback RG3 and Lindsay Vonn.  My MRI has revealed the following:

– complete (grade III) ACL tear

– complete (grade III) LCL tear

– sprain (grade I) MCL stretch

– Small lateral meniscus tear

 

Basically, I blew the crap out of my knee, and that is why it hurt really really really bad.  Half of the things that support my knee mobility are gone.  For those of you who are more visual, I created this helpful Venn diagram in MS Paint.  Vonn also tore apart her MCL.   Image

I have a follow up with my orthopedist on Wednesday and hopefully will be in on Thursday for open knee surgery.  There is a definitely potential that this will require two separate ligament reconstruction surgeries if the swelling persists, so after wrapping our one ice pack around my knee, my boyfriend has been packing me with all of our frozen vegetables.  Peas under my knees!  

Teaching the past two days required some creative thinking.  I still sound the same, “Gravity is like a fart.  The closer you are to it, the stronger it is!” but my ability to catch every little detail of learning or off-task behavior is limited.  The kids really like to roll me down the hallway while I sing Ridin’ Dirty and give thumbs up to kids in other classrooms.  I’m going to do whatever it takes to keep myself sane and positive at work.  I feel very fortunate that everyone at school has been fantastic and helpful, but I am really sad that I’m going to be out of the classroom for a long time after this surgery.  

About jacqandthemountains

I teach middle school science, and I like to play outside.
This entry was posted in Knee Injury. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

